Happiness– Spring Your Life

For today’s Spring Your Life series, we are going to talk about happiness!

I had an entire post written about happiness, but it did not seem genuine. Lately, I’ve been feeling nostalgic, happy and excited, so I thought what better time to write about happiness!

Yesterday, I ran into an old math teacher of mine. I despise math class or anything to do with math, but honestly, he is probably one of the most inspiring people I have ever met. Around this time of year, towards the end of the semester, a lot of people are asking what’s next in your life.  He indeed did ask that, to which I answered that I am going to University in the fall, to study Political science. Instead of just saying “oh that’s great”, he looked me dead in the eyes and said “Is that what you want? Is that what makes you happy?” and without hesitation, I answered, “yes, of course”. He smiled, and in response said “good, you should live your passion every day of your life. Don’t do something because someone else told you to, you’re going to end up living a miserable life if you do”.

I can already hear people being like not everyone has the luxury or the circumstances to live their passion. And honestly, I believed that too for a long time, until I realized the kind of life my teacher had been living. He said that he has been married for over 47 years, happily, and has been living his passion (aka math) for the past 50 years. I would say he is now in his 70s, and if he can be that happy, and that content with his life, it can only mean one thing! If you want to be happy, then you need to do what you want to do, and follow your passion, regardless of what others might think.

Happiness is not some complicated state of being that rarely anyone can reach, rather it is a decision you must make every day. And it is understandable that there will be challenges and hard times in your life, but that does not mean you can’t choose happiness when you can. There is no secret to happiness, the only way you can achieve happiness is to live it every single day. Choosing happiness is not easy, especially in circumstances that we can never see or be happy, but that just means you have a more complicated decision to make. There are obviously exceptions to everything, but if you can, always and I mean always, choose to be happy and live your passion. With the hopes of getting everything, you wanted out of life.

 

Thank you for reading, and have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

