Spring Your Life– Get to Know Yourself

Who are you? What do you like? What do you dislike? Any hobbies? These are the questions that freak me out the most, why might you ask? Because I never have a straightforward, simple and true answer. Every time someone asks me these things, I quickly turn the conversation around, for the fear that they will find me boring, or give up trying to understand my jumbled words.

Today we are going to cover three things, all about who you are! First, we’ll look at discovering who you truly are, then move onto accepting who you are, and lastly be confident while being your true self. Let’s begin, shall we?

Whenever you ask me something as simple as my favourite colour, it becomes some sort of repeated answer. For the past decade, I have been saying that my favourite colour is purple, which it hasn’t been since about 7 years ago. So why do I still say it is? Well because it is easy and simple to just regurgitate something you already know, even if it isn’t true. Because quite honestly my favourite colours are any shade of blue! But I don’t tell people that! Why? Because the last time I apparently sat down and thought about who I was and what I liked, was apparently a decade ago.

So what we need to do is sit down and just ask yourself the really stupid questions, we have never thought to update about ourselves. I mean we update physical things like our closet, or room, or house, but never what’s on the inside and who we are.

Here are some basic easy questions, which surprisingly enough you might not easily know the answers to.

What is your favourite meal?

What is your favourite colour?

Dream vacation destination?

White or Black?

Half full or Half empty?

Bath or Shower?

What’s your favourite song of all time?

Movies of TV shows?

These seem like basic questions, but answering them all truthfully takes a few minutes (obviously there are exceptions). For the longest of time, and even now, I have a hard time knowing what I like and don’t like.

By getting to know the little things about yourself, it will be easier when it comes time to meet someone new or to make a bigger decision.

Next is accepting who we are, which I will admit can be very difficult. We have changed, but sometimes what we like and don’t like have also changed, and admitting that part is a lot of shifting and change in your life to handle. You need to start by not caring what others will think of you if that is where your mind goes immediately. Because honestly they are not living your life, and they should have no effect on who you are and what you want of don’t want! Accepting yourself and all the little things isn’t easy, but it’s something you will always need to work on, and it takes time, and that’s okay. You take as much time as you need.

Now that you have accepted who you, show it! You should feel empowered and comfortable in who you are, and you need to show it! Being confident and empowered is one of the best feelings in the world, it really feels as if you are on top of the world. I know standing tall and being confident is hard, and this won’t likely happen every day. But on those days that you feel like you have an extra pep in your step, take advantage, and be proud of you who are! You are a fantastic human being, which so much to offer to this world, and you are just amazing!! Don’t hide it!

Now go figure out who you are, because showing off who you truly are, is the best thing you can do for the world!

Have a wonderful day! I’ll see you next time for another blog post in the Spring Your Life series!

Leave a Reply

