Wander

For a long time, I believed that if you did not have a set path in mind, then you would inevitably go nowhere in your life. To me, not having a specific career, school, program or even your classes planned out, meant that you were doing something wrong, and you were setting your life up to be a mess. It was not until my life path was under major construction that I understood how wrong I was.

Awhile back I got a pen that said “Not all who wander are lost”, and I just took it as a cute pen and moved on. Recently, I used that pen again and the way I read it did not just pass over my head if anything it became the comforting words I needed to hear.

I recently applied and got accepted into university, but I still have no idea what I want to do. There is this stress that, before going to the next level of schooling, you need to know exactly what you’re doing for the rest of your life; and that only going into what you like is a waste of time and money. I believed this for the longest time until I was put in the position where I had to decide another life move. One that would yes change my life, and yes the one that will affect my opportunities, and future choices. But I did what I thought was best, I did what I wanted to because even if I do wander, I am not lost. I can always go back, or take what I know and do something else.  Most of us are extremely privileged in that we can change our course of life a lot easier; we have also learned to adapt quicker and have embraced transitions.

I’ve come to accept this wandering time, even though I have no idea where it will lead me. If you are in a period of your life where you do not know what to do, go with your gut. And if you end up wandering, that is entirely okay. Wandering helps we find the things we needed to but wouldn’t be able to if we didn’t. Wandering helps us understand the deepest corners of ourselves, and of the world.

So go out into the world, and wander.

Leave a Reply

