10 Tips on How to be Productive

Being productive is one of the many things people find difficult to actually do. Whether it be because of all the distractions we have nowadays, or the fact that the length of our to-do lists can be absolutely terrifying (happens more often than wanted), being productive sometimes just does not happen. Don’t worry, I feel you, I am probably in that position every single day, and as I’m writing this post.

So I came up with a few tricks that I use in order to be productive, on those days that I know if I am not I will regret it for a very long time. Here are 10 tips on how to be productive!

  • Get yourself into a productive mindset the night before

Before going to sleep, take the time to make a to-do list, and make sure you write it down, whether it on your phone or a cute piece of paper. People tend to just make the to-do list as we fall asleep hoping we will remember when we wake up, and most times we don’t. By slowly telling yourself that you have things that have no choice but to be done the next day. Think of it as a warning to your brain of the day to come, and that it needs to be productive.

  • Take your time waking up in the morning

Waking up in the morning can already be painful without a long to-do list. What I recommend is setting yourself an early alarm, so then you can have time to lounge around in bed for a few extra minutes or spend that extra time however you choose. The point is, by allowing yourself to have those extra minutes to do whatever you want, you can charge your mind and soul in a positive way. It helps start off the morning right, which you need on a productive day.

  • Take care of yourself

Whenever I have a productive day ahead of me, I have to feel clean and look put together. Obviously, this is just in my head, and might not apply to others because I know people who can be super productive in bed with PJs. But then there are people like me, who need to shower, put on some minimal makeup, and wear somewhat acceptable loungewear. Just looking put together and taking a few moments to take care of myself, gets me into a productive mode for some reason.

  • Have a healthy breakfast you enjoy 

I am one of the first people to say that I do not enjoy oatmeal (porridge) of any kind, it gives me flashback to a time when I was younger and I did not digest it well… it was not pretty. Ever since then, I cannot have oatmeal, and for the longest time, I was like now you can’t have a healthy breakfast! Which is not true whatsoever, nowadays you can hop onto YouTube or google and find delicious, healthy, quick and easy breakfast recipes. I absolutely stand by the fact that breakfast is the most important meal of the day because it really does determine how your day will be.

  • Make a to-do list

To-do lists seem stressful, but take the one you made the night before and break it down into easier components. By taking a big task and breaking it into small tasks, it just makes the task seem less scary. Now about schedule’s, personally some of the things I do, I cannot judge how much time it will take, and I find just guessing a random time makes me stressed and I never end up following the schedule which makes me disappointed. Instead, I make a list of absolute things I must do before a certain time, or by the end of the day.

  • Change up your environment

If I ever feel in a slump while doing work, I will move from a desk downstairs in my basement, to my dining room table upstairs. Trust me it does make a difference. Changing rooms, or even leaving the house, reorganizes and reconfigures your brain. I also recommend a room with a lot of natural light, personally, I find I work best in bright and open environments. At night, however, I do not mind working in a basement, or darker and cozier area.

  • Drink Water

Water for some reason keeps you awake because it keeps you hydrated. Also when you drink a lot of water, you often have to get up and go to the washroom, which keeps your body awake.

  • Get inspired

Tell yourself some mantras to get you into the mood just like you did the night before

Telling yourself mantras really do help. If you want a few ideas or examples then I recommend my post of Top 5 motivational quotes (https://thelifewedreamof.wordpress.com/2017/01/24/top-5-motivational-quotes/?frame-nonce=c187a00af0).

  • Google random articles about tips and tricks to be productive

Even though you don’t necessarily carry out what they say, it’s getting you into the mindset. Trust me it works. By looking up different techniques you might come across an article like this one, and find something that will help you 😉

  • Set a timer for each task

And lastly, set a timer for each task that you need to do. What this will do is put you slightly under pressure, but understand that you can always add to the timer and make it flexible if something is taking longer than you anticipated. That being said do not extend the timer in order to procrastinate, or put it longer than you know you need so you can have the extra time at the end to not continue your work and take a not needed break.

Okay so now you have everything you need to know, it is time for you to put these tips into action, march yourself to your workspace and get stuff done! I know you can do it, don’t you worry,  you got this!!

P.S. remember to reward yourself with something you like at the end of it all!

 

Have a wonderful and productive day!

Leave a Reply

