Overwhelmed

Have you ever had those days where you just have to deal with so many things, so many people and just so many emotions just at once? Well, these past two weeks have been like that, hence why I have not uploaded any blog posts.

I wanted to just take a few minutes to give you guys some tips on how to cope with those overwhelming days, weeks, months or even years. These tips obviously do not erase everything that is going on in your life, but hopefully, they’ll give you a minute of peace.

  1. Write it down

Whenever I feel overwhelmed, and I feel like I can’t really talk to anyone, I’ll just write everything I feel down. You could put this into a diary entry, or just on some scrap paper and then throw it away. What this does is let you release everything going on, and lifts a bit of the burden you have been carrying around. I like doing this because I don’t have to explain to anyone, if anything I’m explaining everything to myself, and it helps me clarify what exactly is going on.

  1. Block it out with Music

I don’t recommend you do this too often since it might hurt your ears, but just for one song put on your headphones, or blast your speaker and just dance it out. Lose yourself in the song, because for those few minutes you can feel as if you’re detached from the world and all your problems.

  1. Cry it out

I know that if I’m overwhelmed anything will make me cry, and sometimes if I’m around people I’ll hold it in. But if you’re alone, do not fight back the tears, it helps you feel much better when it is all over. When you cry, it’s like your body is physically letting go of the burden. Some people may think that if you cry when you’re in an overwhelming situation it makes you seem weak, but actually, once the crying session is over you have a bit of a clearer mind and you can properly handle what’s happening to you.

  1. Talk it out

I am the first person to say that I hate telling people my problems especially when there are so many and I can’t wrap my head around it all. Or the classic feeling that you’re disturbing the person’s life, or creating a burden for them. And I’m here to tell you that they will not feel that way. If you have a friendship with this person, or any relationship really remember that it is mutual. They will be there for you when you need them, and you’ll be there for them when they need it. Friends are meant to be there for you when you need the most, so never feel bad for just needing someone to talk to.

I hope these tips help! Please leave any other suggestions down below in the comments!

Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

